misterx: (door)
[personal profile] misterx
went to "jonesborough days", and had a bunch of my photos set up to sell. in addition to the 8x10 florals I was selling last time, I also mounted a bunch of 16x20's... black and white landscape and architecture shots, mostly. i also brought the framed one of this from my living room, and set it up on an easel in front.

lots of people stopped and looked. the reaction i particularly enjoyed was when someone would be walking by, not really even browsing, and they'd glance over, then slow, and stop, and stare, and come over and look for real. the other common one I liked was "hey hon, come look at this", and they would drag over whoever they were with. a lot of people complimented my work. a couple embarrassingly so

i have to say the encounters with the film snobs bewilder me though... people who like my images until they find out I use a digital, and then suddenly it's all worthless. i ran into a few of those. they find out I use a digital and they start going "yeah, you can always tell a digital, they don't look right", and stuff like that. it's weird. they're weird. i should note these people are inevitably film photographers themselves, or fancy themselves to be.

one reaction was notably absent... the "reaching for wallet" reaction. i sold exactly one print the whole weekend. i gave out a lot of cards to people who seemed interested. maybe they're all going to buy later... mhmm.

i enjoyed meeting the various people and letting them see my photos, so that's all cool. i was near the creek, and I got to listen to the burbles when I wasn't talking to people. but i don't know if i'm going to continue doing fairs.

on 2005-07-04 09:44 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] evilbeth.livejournal.com
I am finding out in a week or so if I am going to have some disposable income coming. If so, I have earmarked some of it for a few of your pictures I have been really wanting.

on 2005-07-04 10:19 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wolfsilveroak.livejournal.com
I get just the opposite. People amazed at the clarity I get from my digital(Kodak EasyShare 6.1 Megapixel, 3x op/4x dig zooms))

on 2005-07-04 10:20 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] wolfsilveroak.livejournal.com
Oh and after this sat, I really don't want to hear a 'burbling creek' for a very long time.

on 2005-07-04 11:51 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] misterx.livejournal.com
that's just it... they are sharp with detail. and they'd probably agree, if they didn't know it was digital.

on 2005-07-04 11:13 am (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] filmsacramento.livejournal.com
I'm a film snob, but I am always amazed by your photographs. I think once I move, I may have to devote a little bit of my moving fund to getting one or two of your prints with which to decorate my new apartment.

on 2005-07-05 04:40 pm (UTC)
Posted by [identity profile] cuntishness.livejournal.com
i love both film and digital.
i don't understand why people are so anti-digial. if the camera is good, most people can't tell the difference.


i hope you continue.

May 2017

S M T W T F S
 123456
789 10111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 06:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios